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REQUIREMENTS FOR RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE SALESPERSONS 

The following requirements apply to Non-residents who reside in Connecticut or Massachusetts, who 
currently have an active Real Estate Salesperson license in either state.  

Please submit the following: 

• A completed Reciprocal Real Estate Salesperson Application

• Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation (BCI) background check from the Rhode Island

Office of the Attorney General located at 4 Howard Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920. Any questions about

this process should be directed via email at BCIstate@riag.ri.gov. For more information, click here.

Non-residents must also submit a Criminal History Record (CHR) from their home state law

enforcement agency.

• A Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation Certificate of Completion for three (3) hours

(an approved Real Estate Pre-Licensing and Continuing Education Course List can be found on the DBR

website at www.dbr.ri.gov)

• A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance

• A Letter of Good Standing from home state’s licensing authority

Residents of Florida may apply for a Reciprocal Real Estate Salesperson’s license in the state of Rhode 

Island through the Mutual Recognition Agreement, provided they first sit for the “state” portion of the 

examination and submit the above documentation.  To schedule an examination, contact Pearson VUE at 

(800) 274-8922 or visit their website at www.pearsonvue.com .

FEES:  Remit TWO separate Checks or Money Orders 

• 1st Check - $140, payable to the “RI General Treasurer”

AND;

• 2nd Check - $25, payable to the “Real Estate Recovery Account.”

State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Real Estate Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

rev Jan 2024 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/divisions/commlicensing/realestate/RE-CE_Course_List.pdf
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
http://www.pearsonvue.com/
https://riag.ri.gov/i-want/get-background-check
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RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON APPLICATION 
Please print or type.  Incomplete applications will be returned.  Please allow 7-10 business days for processing. 

State of Rhode Island
Department of Business Regulation
Division of Commercial Licensing

Real Estate Section
1511 Pontiac Ave, Bldg. 69-1

Cranston, RI 02920

1. APPLICANT INFORMATION

Name: SSN: 

Date of Birth: Age: Legal Resident?        □ Yes        □ No 

Residential Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Phone Number: Email Address:  

Present Occupation: 

Have you ever been refused a real estate broker’s or salesperson’s license in this or any other state? □ Yes □ No

Have you ever had any real estate license suspended or revoked?  □ Yes □ No

Have you ever been convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendre to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false 
pretenses, bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other offenses of any type which would reasonably cause 
the Department to question your honesty, trustworthiness, integrity, good reputation or competency? □ Yes □ No

2. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION

Agency Name: Phone Number: 

Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Principal Broker Name: RI License No.: 

I, ______________________________________________________________ certify that the applicant has applied for employment as a 
 Principal Broker (Print) 

salesperson, and in my opinion, is competent and trustworthy and is recommended as a suitable person to be granted a 

salesperson’s license. 

 ___________________________________________________________   _________________________________________ 
  Principal Broker Signature  Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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3. AFFIDAVIT(S) & SIGNATURE

Tax Payer Status Affidavit 
Pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws, Chapter 5-76, as amended, any person applying for or renewing any license, permit, or other 

authority to conduct a business or occupation within Rhode Island must have filed all required state tax returns and paid all 

taxes due to the state, or must have entered into a written agreement to pay delinquent state taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax 

Administrator. 

Have you filed all required Rhode Island State tax returns, and have you paid all taxes owed?        Yes        No        N/A 

Affidavit of Application 
I swear, under penalty of perjury that the information provided in connection with this application is true to the best of my 

knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient 

reason to deny licensure by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. 

 _____________________________________________________        _____________________________________________________ 
   Signature of Applicant     Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

4. POWER OF ATTORNEY (Non-Residents ONLY)

I, ______________________________________, having applied to be licensed as a non-resident real estate salesperson in the State of Rhode 

Island, do hereby irrevocably appoint the Director of the Department of Business Regulation, his successor or successors, as my 

lawful attorney, upon whom all lawful process in any action or legal proceeding against me may be served in like manner and 

with the same legal force and effect as if I had been lawfully served with said process.  As such, I do hereby authorize said 

attorney to receive and accept service of process, pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.5-10(d). 

  _____________________________________________________        _____________________________________________________ 
   Signature of Applicant     Date of Signature (MM/DD/YY) 

OFFICE USE ONLY 
Date 

Date application was received: 
Letter of Good Standing Received: 
FL ONLY - State Test Score Report: 
Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Course Received: 
Errors and Omissions Insurance Received: 
CHR/CORI Received: 
License #.: 
Approval: 
Expiration: 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
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